Local Pension Board

With effect from 1 April 2015 Dorset County Pension Fund (DCPF) has created a Local Pension board.


Function of the Pension Board

The function of the Local Pension Board as defined by sections 5 (1) and (2) of the Public Service Pensions Act 2013 is to: 

  • assist the Scheme Manager
  • to secure compliance with the LGPS regulations and any other legislation relating to the governance and administration of the LGPS;
  • to secure compliance with requirements imposed in relation to the LGPS by the Pensions Regulator;
  • in such other matters as the LGPS regulations may specify;
  • secure the effective and efficient governance and administration of the LGPS for the DCPF; and

  • provide the Scheme Manager with such information as it requires to ensure that any member of the Local Pension Board or person to be appointed to the Local Pension Board does not have a conflict of interest. 

The Local Pension Board will also help ensure that the DCPF is managed and administered effectively and efficiently and complies with the code of practice on the governance and administration of local government pension schemes issued by the Pension Regulator and with due regard to guidance issued by government, The Pensions Regulator and the LGPS Advisory Board.

The Local Pension Board of the Dorset County Pension Fund consists of 3 member representatives and 3 employer representatives and will meet at least 4 times a year.

 

 

Terms of Reference

Terms of Reference

The purpose of this document is to set out the terms of reference for the local Pension Board of the Dorset County Pension Fund (DCPF) for which Dorset Council is the Administering Authority.

 


Current Board Membership

Paul Kent (Interim-Chairman) p.kent@btinternet.com
Scheme Member Representative - Self-Nominated Retired Scheme Member
 
Adam Richens a.richens@bcp.gov.uk
Employer Representative – B C P Council
 
David Shortell (Dorset Council Councillor) cllrdavid.shortell@m.dorsetcouncil.gov.uk
Employer representative – Dorset Council  
 
Jeff Morley j.morley@poole.gov.uk
Scheme Member Representative - Nominated by Unison - Active Scheme Member
 
John Jones  John.Jones@Dorset.PNN.Police.uk
Employer Representative – Dorset Police 
 
James Stevens  jstevens@bournemouth.ac.uk
Scheme Member Representative – Active Scheme Member
 
Luke White luke.white@dorset.pnn.police.uk
Scheme Member Representative - Active Scheme Member


Meeting Dates

25 June 2019          

2.00 pm               

Committee Room 3, County Hall

24 September 2019   

2.00 pm

Committee Room 3, County Hall